Arts & Sciences Council

Executive Committee & Council Members

The Executive Committee is elected by the Council and meets biweekly during the academic year. This committee identifies faculty nominations for standing committees of the Arts & Sciences Council, forms ad hoc committees when appropriate, asks for reports from the committees of the Council, and develops agenda items to be brought before the Arts & Sciences Council.

Administrative Support: Mary Nettleton, 919-684-6811,


Executive Committee of Arts & Sciences Council

José María Rodríguez García,  Chair of the Council (2018-2021) 
Valerie Ashby  (ex officio), Dean of  the Faculty, Trinity College of Arts & Sciences
Carol Apollonio, Slavic and Eurasian Studies (2016-2019)
Sherryl Broverman, Biology (2016-2019) 
Jeffrey Forbes, Computer Science (2017-2020)
Reeve Huston, History (2017-2020)
Michael Munger, Political Science (Fall 2018)
John Supko,  Music (2016-2019) (on leave Fall 2018)
Ara Wilson, Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies (2016-2019)

Arts & Sciences Council Representatives

Aerospace Studies, Lt Col Jesse Hunt  2015-2018
African and African American Studies, Karin Shapiro 2016-2019
Art, Art History & Visual Studies, Mark Olson 2017-2020
Asian and Middle Eastern Studies, Nayoung Aimee Kwon  2018-2020
Biology, Sherryl Broverman 2016-2019
Chemistry, Richard MacPhail 2017-2020
Classical Studies, Claire Catenaccio 2018-2020
Computer Science, Jeffrey Forbes, 2017-2020
Cultural Anthropology, Randy Matory 2018-2021
Dance, Julie Walters 2016-2019
Economics, James Roberts 2017-2020
Education, David Malone 2016-2019
English, Julianne Werlin 2018-2021
Evolutionary Anthropology, Steven Churchill 2017-2020
Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies, Patrice Douglas  2018-2021
Germanic Languages and Literature,  Jakob Norberg 2018-2021
Global Health, David Toole 2016-2019
Health, Wellness and Physical Education, Scott Yakola 2017-2020
History, Gunther Peck 2018-2019
International Comparative Studies, Leo Ching (Fall 2018)
Literature, Negar Mottahedeh  2018-2021
Mathematics, Sarah Schott 2016-2019
Music, Jonathan Bagg 2018-2021
Nicholas School of the Environment, Charlotte Clark 2017-2020
Philosophy, Alex Rosenberg 2017-2020
Physics, Christopher Walter 2018-2021
Political Science, Michael Munger 2016-2019
Psychology and Neurosciences, Christina Williams 2018-2019
Religious Studies, Mohsen Kadivar, 2017-2020
Romance Studies, Joan Clifford 2018-2020
Sanford School of Public Policy, Catherine Admay 2017-2020
Slavic and Eurasian Studies, Carol Apollonio 2018-2021
Sociology, Kieran Healy 2018-2019
Statistical Sciences, Edwin Iversen 2017-2020
Theater Studies,  Esther Lee 2018-2019
Thomspon Writing Program, Marcia Rego, 2018-2021