Dean's Memos

Please submit information to be included in future memos from the dean to Deborah Hill, Associate Dean for Communications at Trinity College of Arts & Sciences.

The Focus Program is now soliciting proposals for new clusters to begin in the fall of 2018. read more »

Faculty and administrators at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Duke University are invited to nominate outstanding scholars, artists, or practitioners for the Nannerl Keohane Distinguished Visiting Professorship. read more »

TechFair for faculty, Instructors, and Researchers Friday, November 3 from 1-4p.m. Technology Engagement Center (TEC) in the Telecommunications Building. read more »

One item to bring to your attention: Balancing Teaching and Scholarly Productivity read more »

Dear Faculty, We are pleased to again announce the availability of funding for faculty to participate in a signature program of the National Center for Faculty Development & Diversity, the Faculty Success Program. About the Program The Faculty Success Program is a 12-week Bootcamp where you will learn to: read more »

New Teaching Support for Junior Faculty Confidential Teaching Consultations for Assistant Professors and Assistant Professors of the Practice read more »

October 16, 2017 | 4-7 pm | Washington Duke Inn   read more »

Recognition for Hansen, Yoder, Bernhardt, Ng, Neal, Khanna, Szabo, Stern, Haverkamp, Aidoo, Shatzman, de Prada, Bend, Chafe, Hogan, Pierce, Haravifard, Welsher, Wilbourn, Yang, Astrachan, Reiter, Malcolmson, Royal, Darity, Beardsley, Ramaswamy, Burton read more »

Staff Tech Fair Technology Engagement Center, Telecom Building, West Campus 1:00-4:00 pm Wednesday, July 26 OIT will host its first University staff TechFair at the Technology Engagement Center from 1-4pm on July 26. Come to this open-house style event for fair food, prizes and tech demos. Get practical advice and set-up applications like LastPass, WebEx, DukeFlyer, 3D printing, Virtual Reality... read more »

Duke Professor Michael Tomasello 2017 National Academy of Sciences Fellow “In Search of Human Uniqueness" Thursday, September 7, 2017 4:00-5:00 p.m. Lecture: Griffith Film Theater, Bryan Center Reception: The Landing, Bryan Center read more »

Ranjana Khanna, a noted interdisciplinary and feminist scholar, has been appointed the next director of Duke’s Franklin Humanities Institute (FHI), to begin January 2018, Provost Sally Kornbluth announced this week. Khanna, who is a professor of English, Literature, and Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies, has had a long affiliation with the institute, which was created in 1999 to be a crucial... read more »

Dear Natural Sciences Faculty,   Two of the Duke Center for Genomic & Computational Biology (GCB) core facilities—the Sequencing & Genomic Technologies and Proteomics & Metabolomics cores—will move into custom-designed lab spaces in the newly renovated Chesterfield building in downtown Durham in mid-July. The new lab space will expand our capabilities and capacity to support Duke... read more »

Linda Burton, the James B. Duke Professor of Sociology in Trinity College of Arts & Sciences and dean of social sciences, will become director of the Duke Center for Child and Family Policy effective July 1, 2017. She will also hold a joint faculty appointment in the Sanford School. read more »

Psychologist Harris Cooper will become Interim Dean of the Social Sciences effective September 1, 2017. Cooper, the Hugo L. Blomquist Distinguished Professor, succeeds sociologist Linda Burton and will serve a one-year term as interim divisional dean. Burton is completing her term as divisional dean and will lead Duke’s Center for Child and Family Policy. read more »

Teaching for Equity Fellows (TFEF) is a professional development opportunity, an academic year-long series of workshops that provide tools for addressing issues around identity, race and racism in our classrooms. We are convening a cohort of up to 20 faculty from Trinity College for the 2017-2018 academic year. read more »

Recognition for Weeks, Namakkal, Nechyba, Canelas, Hadjioannou, Welsh, Admay, Wasiolek, Broverman, Morris, Bivans, Thumen, Dworjan, Meyer, Doty, Bernhardt, Ng, MacKey, Supko, Jaji, Holmgren, Jimenez, Comer, McIver, Wilbourn, Warren, Hargrove, Alberts, Steorts, Beratan, Tung, Mukherjee, Machanavajjhala, Charbonneau, Tomasello, Bail, Bergelson, Humphreys, MacLean, Lentz-Smith. read more »

To continue our work on the curriculum, we anticipate a series of fall retreats with chairs, the DUS Board, ECASC, and other stakeholders, as well as a variety of town hall meetings for faculty and departments across divisions. read more »