Office of the Dean
Valerie S. Ashby, Ph.D., Dean of Trinity College

Memo from the Dean - 12/7/2016 - Faculty Recognition

December 7, 2016

Dear Faculty and Staff,  

As the semester draws to a close, I write to draw your attention to outstanding faculty accomplishments that have recently garnered professional recognition. Please join me in congratulating our colleagues.

Professional Society Leadership

  • Eduardo Bonilla-Silva (Sociology) has been elected the 109th President of the American Sociological Association. In this role, Eduardo will chair the 2018 Program Committee that will shape the ASA Annual Meeting program.
  • Kerry L. Haynie (Political Science) was elected to a two-year term as Co-President of the American Political Science Association's Section on Race and Ethnic Politics.
  • Georg Vanberg (Political Science) recently began his two-year term as President of the Public Choice Society. The Public Choice Society works to facilitate the exchange of research and ideas across disciplines in the social sciences, political science, sociology, law, and related fields.

Early Career Awards

  • Emily Derbyshire (Chemistry) has won a Marion Milligan Mason Award from the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The award recognizes and supports promising young women faculty in the chemical sciences by providing research support and leadership and mentoring opportunities.
  • Maiken Mikkelsen (Physics, Electrical & Computer Engineering) has received the Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award from the American Physical Society in recognition of her demonstrated outstanding potential in the field of quantum nanophotonics.
  • Jennifer Roizen (Chemistry) has been chosen as a 2017 Thieme Chemistry Awardee. The award, which is given by the editorial boards of Synlett, Synthesis, and Synfacts, recognizes promising young faculty at the beginning of their career.
  • Amy Schmid (Biology) won an Early Career Development Award from the National Science Foundation to support her research titled “Elucidating cell cycle gene regulatory networks throughout the tree of life.”

Professional Society Recognition

  • Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel (Statistical Science) won the Waller Award at the 2016 Joint Statistical Meetings for her outstanding contributions to and innovations in the teaching of elementary statistics.
  • David Dunson (Statistical Science) has been awarded a Carnegie Centenary Professorship from the Carnegie Trust for the Universities of Scotland. The aim of these professorships is to advance the academic and scientific development of Scottish universities through research collaboration. In addition, Dunson has been invited to present his paper "Nonparametric Bayes Modeling of Populations of Networks” at the Journal of the American Statistical Society’s Joint Statistics Meeting 2017 this summer. This is a singular honor.
  • Henry Everitt (Physics) was named a 2016 fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
  • Maurizio Forte (Classical Studies) was awarded a 2015 Outstanding Work Award by the China International Tangible Interaction Design and Innovation Exhibition. His exhibition promotes innovation, and also enhances international communication for research, education and industrial collaboration in China.
  • Katherine Hayles (Literature) was elected to membership of the Academia Europaea, the pan European Academy of Sciences, Humanities & Letters.
  • Paula D. McClain (Political Science, Public Policy) has won the Outstanding Professional Achievement award from the Midwest Women's Caucus of Political Science.


  • Allen Buchanan (Philosophy) was awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities grant for the project “The Evolution of Moral Progress.” The grant is for preparation for publication of a co-written book about the possibility of a theory of moral progress in light of current evolutionary explanations of morality.
  • Owen Flanagan (Philosophy) has been awarded a Berggruen Fellowship at the Center for Advanced Study of Behavioral Sciences at Stanford for the 2016/17 academic year. He will work on a project tilted “Varieties of Flourishing: Cross-Cultural Dialogues.”
  • Jian-Guo Liu (Mathematics) was named a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society for his contributions to the analysis of numerical methods for fluid dynamics, kinetic theory, and nonlinear partial differential equations.
  • Francois Lutzoni (Biology) was named the Mycological Society of America’s 2016 fellow. Lutzoni was cited for his collaborative approach to research, which has led to major contributions to the discipline.

Book Award

  • Thavolia Glymph (History) has received recognition from “About Great Books” who cited her book “Out of the House of Bondage: The Transformation of the Plantation Household” as one of the top 30 nonfiction books about slavery.

New Books

I want to recognize faculty whose books have recently been published (see DukeToday Please congratulate: Lamonte Aidoo (Romance Studies), Dan Ariely (Economics), Edward J. Balleisen (History), John M. Clum (Theater Studies), miriam cooke (Asian & Middle Eastern Studies), Ingrid Daubechies (Mathematics), Thomas F. DeFrantz (African & African American Studies), Neil De Marchi (Economics), Frances Hasso (Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies), Fredric Jameson (Literature), Satti Khanna (Asian & Middle Eastern Studies), Peter Klopfer (Biology), Adam Mestyan (History), Neil McWilliam (Art, Art History & Visual Studies), Jacques Pierre (Romance Studies), Sumathi Ramaswamy (History), Tom Rankin (Art, Art History & Visual Studies), Carlos Rojas (Asian & Middle Eastern Studies), J.E.R. Staddon (Psychology & Neuroscience), and the writing teams of Avshalom Caspi and Terrie Moffit (Psychology & Neuroscience), and Arlie O. Petters and Xiaoying Dong (Mathematics).

Please be sure to send your new book announcements to the Office of News & Communications to ensure your work is included in the DukeToday book roundups. Send that information to

Thank you all for making Duke and Trinity College of Arts & Sciences such an outstanding place of learning.  


Valerie S. Ashby

Dean of Trinity College of Arts & Sciences