Office of the Dean
Valerie S. Ashby, Ph.D., Dean of Trinity College

Memo from the Dean 7/18/2016 - Faculty & Staff Accomplishments

July 18, 2016

Dear Faculty and Staff,
I write today to draw your attention to outstanding faculty and staff accomplishments that have recently garnered professional recognition. Please join me in congratulating our colleagues.
Lifetime Achievement Awards
John Aldrich won the Warren E. Miller Prize for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences by the American Political Science Association. The award citation recognized him for “an outstanding career of intellectual accomplishment and service to the profession in the Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior field." Aldrich specializes in American politics and behavior, formal theory, and methodology.
Judith Ruderman (English) has won the 2017 Harry T. Moore Award for Lifetime Achievement in D.H. Lawrence Studies, given by the D.H. Lawrence Society of North America. The award recognizes her important contributions to Lawrence studies, especially books on Lawrence’s works on race and identity.
Elected Fellow
Toril Moi (Literature, English, Romance Studies) is one of 66 scholars elected to the British Academy. The academy is the United Kingdom’s national body for the humanities and social sciences, dedicated to the study of people, culture and societies. Only 20 international scholars were elected as Corresponding Fellows in 2016. Moi’s research encompasses feminist theory and women’s writing, and the intersection of literature, philosophy and aesthetics.
David Dunson and Alan Gelfand (Statistical Science) have been elected Fellows of the International Society for Bayesian Analysis. Dunson was recognized for outstanding and diverse contributions to Bayesian nonparametrics, and for sustained work in biostatistics. Gelfand was recognized for the development of Markov chain Monte Carlo methodology, and for sustained contributions to Bayesian modeling in environmental and spatial statistics.
Mentoring Award
Ken Lyle (Chemistry) won the STEM Mentor of the Year Award during the first annual Research Triangle Park STEMmy Awards event. These awards recognize companies and individuals for their contributions in making the STEM fields more accessible to under-represented minorities.
Teaching Award
Qiu Wang won a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award from the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation. This is particularly exciting recognition for our assistant professor, who also won a 2016 Sloan Research Fellowship for young investigators this year. She is making us proud.
Professional Society Recognition
Merlise Clyde (Statistical Science) was awarded the Zellner Medal by the International Society for Bayesian Analysis in recognition of her sustained impact and legacy in ISBA leadership, and in recognition of her career impact in development of Bayesian analysis as a research, educational and professional leader.
Bruce Caldwell, (Economics) has been named the inaugural recipient of the Manhattan Institute’s Hayek Scholarship Prize, which recognizes scholarly work on Austrian economist and Nobel laureate F.A. Hayek. Caldwell has served as the general editor of a 19-volume book series on the collected works of Hayek, and his research on Hayek has been published in more than two dozen journals and books.

  • Orin Starn (Cultural Anthropology, History) won an American Council of Learned Societies Collaborative Research Fellowship to support his project “The Last Revolution: Shining Path and the War of the End of the World.”
  • Rebecca Stein (Cultural Anthropology) received an American Council of Learned Societies fellowship for her project “Captured: How the Digital Camera Has Changed the Israeli Occupation.”
  • Annabel Wharton (Art, Art History & Visual Studies) won a National Humanities Center Fellowship for her new project “Manipulating Models: Diagnostic, Phenomenal, Architectural.” In addition, her book “Architectural agents: the delusional, abusive, addictive lives of buildings,” published in 2015, continues to garner critical acclaim and she has won a Choice Award from Choice Reviews Online.

Book Award
Tsitsi Jaji (English) has won the African Literature Association’s First Book Award for her work “Africa in Stereo: Modernism, Music, and Pan-African Solidarity.” Africa in Stereo analyzes how Africans have engaged with African American music as cultural prestige, for pleasure and for its creative resistance to racial hegemony.
New Books
I want to recognize faculty whose books have recently been published (see DukeToday Please congratulate: Linda Burton (Sociology), Andrew Byers (History), Vincent Conitzer (Computer Science), Harris Cooper (Psychology & Neuroscience), Chris Kennedy (English), Charles Piot (Cultural Anthropology), Sumathi Ramaswamy (History), Kristine Stiles (Art, Art History and Visual Studies), Will Wilson (Biology), Joseph R. Winters (Religious Studies), and the team of Carlos Rojas (Asian and Middle Eastern Studies) and Ralph A. Litzinger (Cultural Anthropology).

Please be sure to send your new book announcements to the Office of News & Communications to ensure your work is included in the DukeToday book roundups. Send that information to

Presidential Award
Please join me in congratulating business manager Theresa Shouse of the Department of Sociology. Theresa won a Presidential Award in the managerial category at the close of the semester. The Presidential Award is one of Duke’s highest honors and is given to staff and faculty for outstanding job performance and distinctive contributions within the past calendar year.
Thank you all for making Duke and Trinity College of Arts & Sciences such an outstanding place of learning.
Valerie S. Ashby
Dean of Trinity College of Arts & Sciences