Technology Services

Assigning or revoking roles

Accounts that are created when a person logs into your site for the first time will not have any assigned roles and thus will lack any editing or admin privileges on the site.

Certain roles have the ability to assign roles to other user accounts. For example, an account with the 'site manager' role might have the ability to assign the 'site editor' role to other accounts. In this way, site managers can delegate site editing responsibilities to new staff. Similarly, site managers can revoke a role when a staff member no longer needs to be able to edit site content.

Here are the steps to do so:

  1. Log in to your site
  2. Select 'People' from the admin toolbar
  3. Locate the account to which you wish to assign or revoke a role; you can filter by username, the time the account was created, and the last time the account was used to facilitate in locating the account.
  4. Click the respective 'edit' link in the 'Operations' column
  5. Check to assign, or uncheck to revoke, the appropriate role(s) in the 'Roles' list
  6. Click 'Save'

If you do not see the 'People' menu item in the admin toolbar when logged in, contact trinitywebsupport@duke.edu so your privileges can be modified to include this permission.