Technology Services

The Editing Interface

Logging In

To login to your Drupal website, click the An image of the NetID Login button button at the bottom of any page; if you are already logged in this button will not be present. When a user with adequate permissions logs in, the user interface will change and the following elements will be present:

  1. The administrative toolbar: Only shown to users with appropriate permissions when logged in. Includes links to administrative tasks that the logged-in user has access to.
  2. User count: Shows anonymous and logged-in user count. The anonymous count is misleading, as the page caching mechanism can throw this count off.
  3. Log out link: Allows the logged-in user to log out of their session.
  4. Shortcut menu toggle: Click to show or hide the shortcut menu.
  5. Shortcut menu: Customizeable list of links to common tasks; contact trinitywebsupport@duke.edu for assistance in changing the links that are present.
  6. View tab: Click to view the current page; when editing, click to exit the editor without saving any changes.
  7. Edit tab: Click to enter the editor for the current node.
  8. Revisions tab: Click to view the revisions (version history) of the current node.
  9. Contextual menu: Click to access the 'Configure block' link which is used to access the editor for editable blocks.

Editing a node

By clicking the 'Edit' tab you can access the editor for the current node:

Editor UI

  1. The fields present will vary from content type to content type; in this example a 'Basic page' is shown, which includes a title, body, and file attachment fields.
  2.  The 'Menu settings' are used to provide a menu item to the node in the site navigation. See Edit Your Menus for additional information about working with menus.
  3. 'URL path settings' can be used to customize the alias the user sees in the address bar. For example, given the URL http://www.duke.edu/page-path, "page-path" is the alias.
  4. You can customize the 'Meta tags' present in the rendered page (page title, description, keywords, etc.).
  5. The 'Publishing options' tab can be used to change the status of a node from published to unpublished (or vice versa). See Stop Content from Displaying (Unpublishing) for additional information.
  6. Click the 'Save' button to commit any changes; failure to do so when you are finished editing can reusult in data loss.
  7. The 'Preview' button provides a marginally useful preview of the page; marginal in that the preview is not within the context of the site's theme.
  8. Clicking 'View changes' will show you any differences that have been made to the node since entering the editor.

Editing a block

Editing a block is remarkably similar to editing a node. Upon clicking 'Configure block', the block editor includes fields and display settings which can be used to update the content and change where the block is shown on the site. For more informaiton see Edit a Block.