Office of the Dean

Trinity Diversity Advisory Committee

In December 2015, Dean Valerie Ashby constituted the Trinity Diversity Advisory Committee to aid the school is creating an ethos of belonging and inclusion in our classrooms, in our laboratories and libraries, and in our social lives as Duke community members.

Committee Members

  • John Blackshear, Academic Dean
  • Guy-Uriel Charles, Professor in the Duke Law School, founding director of the Duke Center on Law, Race and Politics
  • Leo Ching, Associate Professor of Asian & Middle Eastern Studies
  • Edward Gomes, Senior Associate Dean of Trinity Technology Services
  • Wesley Hogan, Director of the Center for Documentary Studies
  • Calvin Howell, Professor of Physics, Director of the Triangle Universities Nuclear Laboratory
  • Janie Long, Associate Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
  • Jacqueline Looney, Senior Associate Dean for the Duke Graduate School
  • Claudia Milian, Associate Professor of Romance Studies and Director of the Program in Latino/a Studies in the Global South
  • Mark Anthony Neal, Professor of African & African American Studies, host of the Left of Black series, founding director of the Center for Arts, Digital Culture and Enterpreneurship
  • Sumathi Ramaswamy, Professor of History
  • Ben Reese, Vice President of the Office for Institutional Equity
  • Suzanne Shanahan, Associate Research Professor, Kenan Institute for Ethics

Ex-Officio Members